Sanlı Urfa   Leave a comment

  [slidesho

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

w]

      The Prophets City of Sanlı Urfa. I went to Sanlı Urfa last Sunday and the city is smell of spiritual things. Former the city just was named Urfa but its name was Sanlıurfa in 1984 after Deliverance War.

         Firstly, we reached Urfa in the evening and we went to Sıra Gecesi, it is traditional amusement night for Urfa’s people. When we came in, we met traditional furniture at Star Palace Guest House. We just paid 45TL for everything added food. Urfa is famous for ‘kebap’ and ‘çiğköfte’ and I ate both of these in Sıra Night. We listened traditional music and people danced with the music and they take ‘halay’, it is a kind of folk dance, with their traditional music also halay is important for them and it is indispensable for them. I and my friends so enjoyed in Sıra Gecesi and you should absolutely go to Sıra Gecesi and taste this pleasure.

         I and my friends went to Harfeti, it is village of Urfa. While we were going very fascinating scene met to us and we could not stand, the bus stopped, everybody took a photograph machine and we took a very beautiful pictures with a magnificent view. I saw the unification of Fırat River and nature it was so exciting. After the Picture break we went on our way and we came Fırat River and we made the boat trip about one hour and it was so enjoyable. I took plenty of pictures with the nature.

        After the boat trip we back to Urfa and we visited the Prophet Hz. Eyüp’s place. I saw Hz. Eyüp’s cave and Hz. Eyüp’s tomb. Hz. Eyüp is named patience prophet because he caught very bad illness and he defeats it with his illness and his belief in God. After I visited his tomb I went to healing water fountain and I drank water. According to some oracle, the water is healing for illness and people drink the water for their illness. There is so crowded and when I was very surprised when I seeing the crowd.

          Urfa is known both Hz. Eyüp Prophet and Hz. Ibrahim Prophet and after Hz. Eyüp’s place we went to “Balıklı Lake” where the place of Hz. Ibrahim. The lake is full of fish and it has interesting and real story. Hz. Ibrahim was thrown in the fire by Nemrut and the wood turned to fish and the fire turned to water with the power of God. The place is so spiritual things and its view is very fascinating. While we were riding, I took pictures around lake. Also you can take a pictures with traditional costumes just 1TL. After that I and my friends went to bazaar in place. Bazaar is full of traditional costumes, jewellery, ornaments and many special things belong the city and we bought some things for us and present for our friends.

         After the shopping we finished our Urfa tour and we went to back Istanbul. I think, you should go and see Sanlı Urfa and you should taste different tastes and delight.

Posted May 4, 2011 by sumeyyegurer in Uncategorized

Leave a comment